author: mkalinow@onet.eu

Be the change you want to see in the world.

Mahatma Gandhi

Life Balance

Complementary Self-practice

In Harmonize your Inner-self

Yoga = Union *

Although many people think this term refers to union between body and mind or body, mind and spirit, the traditional concept is union between the Jivatman and Paramatman; that is, between one’s individual consciousness and the Universal consciousness. Therefore Yoga refers to a certain state of consciousness as well as to methods that help us to reach that goal or state of union with the Divine.

There are hundreds of such techniques and, therefore, many different forms of Yoga. To simplify and clarify the topic, the vast science of Yoga can be encapsulated in five principles:

  • Proper Exercise
  • Proper Breathing
  • Proper Relaxation
  • Proper Diet
  • Positive Thinking and Meditation

Yoga Asanas / Proper Exercise

Today, there are many physical culture systems designed to develop the muscles through mechanical movements and exercises. As Yoga regards the body as a vehicle for the soul on its journey towards perfection, Yogic physical exercises are designed to develop not only the body but also to broaden mental faculties and spiritual capacity.

Yogic physical exercises are called Asanas, a term which means steady pose. This is because the Yoga Asana (or posture) is meant to be held for some time. However this is quite an advanced practice. Initially, our concern is simply to increase body flexibility.

The body is as young as it is flexible. Yoga exercises focus on the health of the spine, its strength and flexibility. The spinal column houses the all-important nervous system, the telegraphic system of the body. By maintaining the spine’s flexibility and strength through exercise, circulation is increased and the nerves are guaranteed an optimal supply of nutrients and oxygen. The Asanas also affect the internal organs and the endocrine system (glands and hormones).

Although there are many Asanas (8,400,000 according to the scriptures) the practice of the 12 basic postures brings out the essence and all major benefits of this wonderful system.

The 12 Basic Postures are:

  1. Headstand (Sirshasana)
  2. Shoulderstand (Sarvangasana)
  3. Plough (Halasana)
  4. Fish (Matsyasana)
  5. Forward bend (Paschimothanasana)
  6. Cobra (Bhujangasana)
  7. Locust (Shalabhasana)
  8. Bow (Dhanurasana)
  9. Spinal twist (Ardha Matsyendrasana)
  10. Crow pose (Kakasana) or Peacock pose (Mayurasana)
  11. Standing forward bend (Pada Hasthasana)
  12. Triangle (Trikonasana)

The session ends with a deeper, final relaxation.

* Information about yoga is based on Yoga Shivananda philosophy. For more details check Yoga Shivananda Center

© Life Touch, Life Coaching, Geneva, Switzerland 2008-2009;
All rights reserved; Designed & powered by AC
statystyka Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Poprawny CSS!